Skip to content

rain day revelation

11 April 2013

Image

My eyes struggled to focus as rain crashed into my windshield like an angry flood and the wipers slashed it away. The tires in front of me spewed filthy road water at me and I realized this:

“A continual dripping on a rainy day and a contentious wife are alike…” Proverbs 27:15.

Contentious

/kənˈtenʃəs/

Adjective

  1. Causing or likely to cause an argument; controversial.
  2. Involving heated argument.

Synonyms

  1. Quarrelsome
  2. Controversial
  3. Moot
  4. Litigious

Just like those thunderings and lightenings in the sky and the blast of the large raindrops shattered the silence of my drive home, grumbling and complaining shatter peace and birth strife.

The cars ahead of me on the road trail off into the fog and curtains of waterfall and I remember the other day at work. Sometimes, in the midst of folding clothes and communing with the masses, frustration bubbles up in me. I work at a name brand clothing retail. I don’t have a college degree. That, however, does not mean the I am worthy of disrespect. I could easily have any degree I desire, if the calling and finances were there for me. So this fountain of annoyance and pride – yes, dark deep deadly pride – rushes up inside of me and I long to tell people I do not deserve the treatment I receive and neither do the the others around me. And as I folded those children sized shirts, small and colorful, the voice of the Creator echoed in my mind:

“If it is possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all” Romans 12:18.

If it is possible… live at peace with everyone. Everyone. Those who spit in your face. Those who take out their garbage on you. Those who make your life difficult. Those who encourage you and make you laugh. Those who love you and those you love. Everyone.

Most use that verse to justify supporting unbiblical choices others make. But the more and more I think about it, the more and more I think it means to turn the other cheek. I think it means that when others put me down, I need to take it with humility and love.

I was still frustrated when I left work. Or, I guess I would have been if I had let myself keep thinking about what I deserve. I had to give myself a pep talk on the way out to my car: It doesn’t matter how other people treat you. It matters how you treat other people. You may not be treated justly in this world, the world of unjust sinners, but Jesus will bring justice and His is the kind that matters. And I realized that when I retaliate out of my frustration about how I am treated – I am putting myself before others and that is selfish.

So, starting the day before yesterday, I am going to learn how to live peaceably so that I will cease to be a contentious wife. Because I want my words to be emphasized by actions that scream JESUS IS ALIVE IN ME AND I IN HIM. I don’t want my blindness to Christ-love to be so inhibiting to what He desires of me that He decides not to work through me. That would be the most sepulchral reality I could exist in and I’d rather live in straights of gladness, love, and Spirit.

Now though it is dismal outside, I choose to make the journey towards joy and the fulfillment of Christ-love inside. An unending sojourn in search of Jesus’ face and the words, Well done, good and faithful servant.

No comments yet

Any thoughts? Something to say? I'd love to hear it.

