Skip to content

Read with caution.

19 September 2012

I was going to post something about something entirely different, but I felt the need to post this instead.

There are some changes happening in “Christianity” today. I realize that these changes have been happening since Jesus was crucified, but I’ve been seeing a lot of people do biblically unsound things recently. There is a book coming out soon called “The Cross in the Closet”. It is a book a man wrote after living the life of a homosexual for a year. This man is a professing Christian, whatever that means these days. He watched a friend of his come out of the closet and then go through some extremely painful consequences. He said that he felt a nudge (or something) … from the Holy Spirit to put himself in the shoes of those in the LGBT community coming out of the closet. So he told people that he was gay and then dealt with the consequences. There was more that he said that made me very uncomfortable, however, I am only focusing on this part.

The Holy Spirit will NEVER lead you to lie. But, Danike, he lied for a really great reason so how do you know that it wasn’t God? … “God is not man, that he should lie[…]” Numbers 23:19. The only supernatural being that will lead you to lie is Satan, the father of lies. There are many verses that command us not to lie in the Bible. Here are a few of them:

“Do not lie to one another, seeing that you have put off the old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge after the image of its creator” Colossians 3:9-10.

“You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor” Exodus 20:16/Deuteronomy 5:20

“There are six things that the Lord hates, seven that are an abomination to him: haughty eyes, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked plans, feet that make haste to run to evil, a false witness who breathes out lies, and one who sows discord among brothers” Proverbs 6:16-19.

And many more.

This is not to say that I don’t advocate treating homosexuals like normal people, which they are. Romans 12:18 says, “If possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all.” There are also all those verses in the Bible about showing people love. The difference is that I don’t think love requires us to not say what we believe. Jesus spent time with sinners everyday. (He was ridiculed by the Pharisees and Sadducees for it, too.) However, he also told them to turn away from their sin and follow him. (Read the Gospels for examples of this. It is everywhere.)

Yes. I think living a homosexual lifestyle is sinful. Here’s why:

“You shall not commit adultery” Exodus 20:14/Deuteronomy 5:18.

“You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall not commit adultery.’ But I say to you that everyone who looks at a woman with lustful intent has already committed adultery with her in his heart” Matthew 5:27-28.

“You shall not lie with a male as with a woman; it is an abomination” Leviticus 18:19. (The Pentateuch was written to men because Hebrews lived in a patriarchal society.)

“…For their women exchanged natural relations for those that are contrary to nature; and the men likewise gave up natural relations with women and were consumed with passion for one another, men committing shameless acts with men and receiving in themselves the due penalty for their error” Romans 1:26-27. (Emphasis added. Homosexuality is contrary to nature.)

Okay, now that I have gotten all of that out of the way. I just want you to know that I think that living in homosexuality is just as sinful as if David and I had had sex before we got married or if one of us were to cheat on the other. It is just as sinful as lying, as stealing, as any sins that we of the heterosexual orientation commit. There is no sin that is worse than others so we should definitely not be treating those of the LGBT community differently. Alright? I think this is one of the biggest mistakes that the American church has made: treating them differently and casting judgement. … Here are the words of JESUS: “Judge not, that you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you” Matthew 7:1-2. Remember how I just said that no sin is worse than another? Well. God is a just judge. He will even things out for you in the end. And that is a scary thought. 

I know that in the Bible it also says stuff about iron sharpening iron (Proverbs 27:17) and confronting those who are in sin… but that is for Christians that you have good relationship with. Yes, I know some Christians who are gay or bi – you can tell them that to practice a homosexual lifestyle is sinful. (The ones I am friends with know already, though, and don’t live in that lifestyle.)

Now, I realize that anyone reading this who is not a Christian will probably not agree with me at all… and that is fine. This blog post is specifically for those who are Christians, at least by profession. I also realize that a lot of people are going to be unhappy with me for posting this. Let’s talk about it. I am not pointing fingers at anyone or judging anyone. I am not upset with that man for writing his book or for anyone who is excited to read it. I am not angry with any of the LGBT community, in fact, it is rather dear to my heart. There are some people that are very dear to my heart that are of that lifestyle and I love them just as much as I love anyone else. 

With love,

Danike

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 19 September 2012 15:22

    Good stuff Danike!

  2. 25 September 2012 13:15

    Check your email

    • 25 September 2012 14:30

      Hi! I read your email when you sent it – I have just been waiting for my schedule to give me enough time to give my response my full attention. :) Hopefully that will be tonight after I get dinner in the oven.

Any thoughts? Something to say? I'd love to hear it.

