Skip to content

new creation

23 July 2012

Most of you know the whole: inviting Jesus into your heart and then your sins will be washed away by the blood that He shed for you on the cross, right? Just in case, I will give a little summary.

God made us to be friends with Him, to praise and honor him. His only thing was that He wanted obedience and the only thing He told the first humans (Adam and Eve) not to do was eat fruit from the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil. Well, Adam and Eve disobeyed God and broke that friendship that they’d had. So God kicked them out of His garden because He can’t stand to be in the presence of sin, or disobedience. But God so wanted (and wants!) us to be friends with Him, for us to honor and praise Him, for us to be in His presence again, that He gave up His son, Jesus, who never sinned to die a sinner’s death for us. It was a free gift for us, what Jesus did – all we have to do is accept it, thank God for it, and be obedient to Him. Once we’ve done that, when God looks at us, He sees Jesus because Jesus is with us. (I hope I did a good job explaining this, if not and you want to know what I mean, please ask questions!)

This means some pretty cool stuff for us, as Christians: the more we worship God and give Him the praise He deserves, the more we look like Him. My husband keeps saying “you are what you worship” (which he heard somewhere… but I don’t remember where) and it is true. You become more and more like whatever you worship. You become something else. As we worship God, we are re-made. When we were born, we were born into sin because we are humans and our parents are humans – they were born into sin, too. But, when we accept Christ and choose to walk with Him, we are re-born, but not in flesh and blood, but in spirit. That makes us new, a new creation –

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.” 2 Corinthians 5:17

Another cool verse I’d like to talk about is this:

“Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.” 2 Corinthians 3:17

When we walk with Jesus, Jesus is with us, right? Makes sense, that is pretty easy to understand. When David and I are together, David is with me and I am with him. It is the same with Jesus, except He is always there, if you want. What this verse is saying is that Jesus, or the Lord, is the Spirit and that wherever He is – there is freedom. So, I, having Jesus in and with me, am in freedom. I am free.

What am I free from, you might ask. Well, I am free from sin. I don’t have to steal, lie, or cheat anymore. Also, the things from my past don’t have a hold on me anymore. Or shouldn’t anyway. The things that I’ve done wrong… they don’t say anything about who I am anymore. I still have to deal with the consequences, but they don’t say who I am.

I am also free from fear. In 2 Timothy, it says “For we have not been given a spirit of fear, but of power, love, and a sound mind” (1:7). See, Paul is telling Timothy not to be afraid of standing up for what he believes in. He is saying that trials may come, but that the truth will set him free. Jesus is truth and where Jesus is, there is freedom. See, is this starting to make sense?

No comments yet

Any thoughts? Something to say? I'd love to hear it.

