Skip to content

21 Candles: Emergence (or “What I’ve Learned In Search Of Purpose”)

30 May 2012

I have been seeing more and more the importance of purpose and passion. I mean, if you don’t have something you are working towards – and I mean something legitimate – what is the point?

I used to wake up in the morning and not really know where I was. In all every possible way. Sometimes, I felt like we are little dolls in a giant doll house and that there is some great, big marionettier pulling our strings and making us dance. Sometimes I would be in that place all day, but eventually I’d remember what the point is: Jesus.

I watch my peers go about their daily lives and, sometimes, I just don’t get it. Some of them, I know, love Jesus and striving for a deeper relationship with Him. But a lot of them don’t… and I don’t know what gets them out of bed in the morning. I understand the whole search from something greater, something meaningful. But, you won’t find it in the mountains, in the ocean, in music or poetry, you won’t find it in art, or politics, or philosophy… none of that means anything if you don’t know why you exist.

I have grown a lot in the past few years, but especially this last one. And one of the things that has really changed my life was realizing that we were made for God’s glory. I am going to say it again because we’ve heard it so many times that we often over look it – We were made for God’s glory, His delight. We were made to WORSHIP and honour Him. We were made for RELATIONSHIP WITH HIM. And when we don’t see that, we look for other ways to fill that void in us. Because we were made with a void… a God shaped hole, if you will. (Sorry, Audio Adrenaline, it is a good way to describe it.) Without God, we have nothing. We have no purpose, we have no direction. I learned that. I knew it already, but I had to learn it again.

And I made a commitment to try to seek God in all things. Sometimes it seems like I am stumbling around in the dark… but usually, often, it feels like I have the greatest friend in the world, who, just so you know, made the world. I have been working really hard at this…because I realized a few months ago – I am really bad at keeping up with my friends that I don’t see on a regular basis. (And by that I mean… at least a couple times a week.) I am not the only one with this problem. And we do it to God, too.

Slight, but still relevant, bunny trail: Someone once compared getting deeper in your spiritual walk with skinny dipping. Sounds a little weird, right? Well, think about it – when you go skinny dipping, you don’t ease into the water (even if it is frigid), you run in because you are naked and don’t want anyone looking at you! (I wouldn’t actually know because I’ve never gone skinny dipping, but that’s what they said.) We need to lay all of our walls and guards aside and completely emerge into God, if you will. We need to stand there before Him with all of our wounds and failures and say “Here I am. Do you still love me?” And He will say, “Definitely.” or however he says something affirmative to you. To me He has said “How could I not? I made you!”

Once we have that freedom with God, once we start seeing what He has for us, the plans He has. And the closer we get to God, the more our hearts and our desires will be to do the things He wants from us. For me, that looks like getting married to a godly young man and going into the mission field. Our mission field – telling people about God anywhere and wherever God sends us. It involves us getting our hands dirty, getting sweaty, and singing praises until our voices crack. It involves standing on the walls and raising our petitions to the Lord.

What about you? Are you emerged? Do you have purpose?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Alexis permalink
    26 July 2012 14:53

    Danike – so beautifully shared :)
    Praise God for your marriage by the way. Most importantly I’m encouraged by your faith. Keep going strong and God bless!

    • 27 July 2012 08:15

      Thank you, Alexis – you are very encouraging. =] I love you, lady!

Any thoughts? Something to say? I'd love to hear it.

