Skip to content

People get ready: Jesus is coming!

17 November 2011

The past year or so, people keep telling me that they think Jesus is going to be coming back soon. Everytime they’ve told me that I’ve first thought “don’t be ridiculous” and then “Shoot, I hope not…. we are not ready for that!” That last thought is always quickly followed by a longing to see my Jesus face to face – not to die, just to be in the presence of my Lord.

But, my fiance had a dream last night that really shook both of us up (in a good way). Go read his blog post to read about that dream.

We, as the church in America, need to rise up and take our place in the Bride of Christ! It has been spoken over us so many times that we are like the church in Laodicea. If you go to the book of Revelation, this is what Jesus says to them:

“I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth. For you say, I am rich, I have prospered, and I need nothing, not realizing that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked. I counsel you to buy from me gold refined by fire, so that you may be rich, and white garments so that you may clothe yourself and the shame of your nakedness may not be seen, and salve to anoint your eyes, so that you may see. Those whom I love, I reprove and discipline, so be zealous and repent. Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me. The one who conquers, I will grant him to sit with me on my throne, as I also conquered and sat down with my Father on his throne. He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches.” Rev 3:15-22

We think we have it pretty good here…. with our nice cars and houses, our great jobs…. (I know I am speaking generally – I don’t have a fancy car or a job at all), but we have become complacent. WE NEED TO RISE UP AND DECLARE THE NAME OF JESUS! And not just for ourselves, but for our unsaved brothers and sisters.

Yesterday, Luke – one of the pastors of our church – gave a brief message during one of our 40 Nights of Worship services about our call and purpose as a Christian. He likened us to the army and took West Point’s motto for the title. “Duty. Honor. Country.”

We have three duties:

1. Study the word.

2. Pray continuously.

3. Evangelize.

A note on prayer real fast… I don’t mean telling God what you need or what I want. In Philippians 4:6 it says: “do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.” You can ask him for what you need, but it says nothing about giving God your grocery lists… it says nothing about complaining or telling God you deserve something (believe me, after our sin and Jesus’ sacrifice the cross, we deserve nothing)… we must give God THANKS! Worship him! Praise him! He deserves it and more!

Honor – The Bible says to honor our mother and our father… but God is our father, too, right? So, shouldn’t we honor him as well? And what a better way to honor him than to love him and do what he says, to obey his commandments!

Country – If you look up country in the dictionary, you will see that it means “the people of a nation”. Not the land. Not the buildings… the people. We are called to love all people. Love your neighbors!

If you truly love your neighbors, you will rise up and take a stand for what you believe in! Tell people about the God who made them from dust and breathed air into their lungs. Tell people about the God who loves them!

No comments yet

Any thoughts? Something to say? I'd love to hear it.

