Skip to content

Mirror

15 April 2009

Mirror, Mirror on the wall, Have I got it?
‘Cause Mirror you’ve always told me who I am
I’m finding it’s not easy to be perfect
So sorry you won’t define me
Sorry you don’t own me

Who are you to tell me
That I’m less than what I should be?
Who are you? Who are you?
I don’t need to listen
To the list of things I should do
I won’t try, I won’t try

Mirror I am seeing a new reflection
I’m looking into the eyes of He who made me
And to Him I have beauty beyond compare
I know He defines me

You don’t define me, you don’t define me
Mirror by Barlow Girl

It is all about image.

So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them. Genesis 1:27

Image is everything. The media feeds us crap about what we should look like- tall, blonde, and beautiful. The aneroxic look is in. Small butt, zero waist, big bosom… pale and sickly. “If Brittany Spear can get that skinny, so can I!” Yeah, yeah, yeah. Honey, did you ever realize that God made you the way He meant to? That doesn’t mean sit on your butt and eat poorly. It means.. don’t worry. Worry is fear and fear is not of the Lord.

Anxiety in the heart of man causes depression, but a good word makes it glad. Proverbs 12:25

“Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?
“So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? “Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.
Matthew 6:25-34

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:9

Pretty much, anytime you let yourself think you are less than God made you to be, it is Satan grabbing hold of your heart and whispering “You are a failure. You will never live up to who God made you to be. Why even try? Holy cow, look at how fat you are! How do you live with yourself? You are so ugly; no one will ever love you.” Every time you listen, Satan wins another pawn in his game of celestial chess against God (even if just for a moment) and, unlike God, he doesn’t actually care about you. It is just a game to him and he isn’t afraid of casualties.

Who are you going to listen to? The God who sent His ONLY SON to DIE on a CROSS for you? The God who CONQUERED DEATH so that YOU might LIVE FOREVER? Or Satan. The guy who hates you more than anyone else in the whole world. The guy that wants you to die a slow and painful death. The guy that will do ANYTHING to make you fail. It is up to you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. saraibinghamton permalink
    15 April 2009 09:36

    thank you. =]
    you’re quite right.

  2. misSy permalink
    15 April 2009 15:50

    I love you, Danike. You speak to me inside.

Any thoughts? Something to say? I'd love to hear it.

