Skip to content

It’s that time of year again….

16 March 2009

The time of year when I pull out my soap box and look back on the past twelve months of my existence and laugh. I laugh at all of my stupid mistakes. I write them down in hopes to never make them again.

I was going to give y’all a summary of my year- my accomplishments, things that happened in my life, people I met, places I have been -and then give you an idea of what I want to do this next year, but I decided, I will just tell you what I have learned.

I have learned that in order to win a battle, you have to fight it. There is nothing in this world that can satisfy you, put your heart where it belongs. It pays to know your own heart. If you believe in something, be strong and prove it with your life. To have faith like a child… true faith blind and whole-heartedly, is the most wonderful feeling in the world. If you find it, grasp hold of it and never let go. It is harder to get back a second time. Write, write, write. Write your thoughts, your life, your heart, and your soul so that when you screw up, you can go back and see where it all began. Live like you know when you are dying, love like it is going out of style. When roles are reversed, don’t hesitate. Luck is about being prepared with the opportunity arises. The true friends are the ones that stay up late and talk to you when you feel like dying, the ones that will tease you when make a mess with your dinner or mess up a solo, the ones that listen when you don’t have anything to say. The true friends are the ones that take the blame for something they didn’t do.

And this year, I am adding another candle to my collection, another light. I pray that it makes a difference, that I shine a little brighter and my words ring truer. I pray I make my mark and inspire the people around me in a way that is pleasing to God.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. valkyrie9 permalink
    16 March 2009 23:47

    I really like this post. I’ve been thinking of doing a sort of reflective, what-I’ve-learned-over-the-past-year post like this, but haven’t been able to put what I want to say into words. Maybe you’ve inspired me a little?

    (This is Rose btw – I think it only includes my username.)

  2. misSy permalink
    18 March 2009 19:00

    You have inspired me already. And something else I think you might find encouraging is Proverbs 13:12 which says, “Hope deferred makes the heart sick, but when the desire comes, it is a tree of life.”

    I know it can seem like life is going to end tomorrow and you are really eager to get where you are going as fast as you can before you reach that end. Oh, but Danike, things will be alright. Things will happen and they will work in time. You must experience the death of the vision before its life.

    Notice what the verse says. It doesn’t say *if* the desire comes. It says very clearly *when* the desire comes. That means that if your desire is of God, it *will* come. I know things can seem hopeless and it feels like your life will never really “take off,” but it will soon enough. Postponed hope will make you sick just as it has me, but when your dreams come true, and they will, it is a tree of life. And you will smile the biggest smile you ever have and thank God like you never have when it does ;)

Trackbacks

  1. 1/5 of a Century later… « living between the trees
  2. 21 Candles: Introduction « living between the trees

Any thoughts? Something to say? I'd love to hear it.

